Montana Tech 2018 Student Employee of the Year

On Tuesday, April 10th, Student Affairs at Montana Tech hosted a Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) recognition ceremony. The event honored Montana Tech students nominated by their on-campus employers for the distinguished award. This year’s nominees were Aleesha Aasved, Clyde Ellertson, Jay Hillygus, Joshua Hettick, Logan Stephens, and Sebastian Perduss.

The Montana Tech 2018 Student Employee of the Year award nominations were critiqued based upon each nominee’s characteristics in the areas of Reliability, Quality of Work, Initiative, Professionalism, and Uniqueness of Contribution to the employer.

The selection committee chose Jay Hillygus for the campus award. He was nominated by Dr. Mary MacLaughlin, Professor of Geological Engineering, and received a personalized trophy and an award certificate signed by Chancellor Donald M. Blackketter and Associate Vice Chancellor/Dean of Students Dr. Carrie Vath. Jay’s name will be displayed as the recipient on the Montana Tech 2018 Student Employee of the Year perpetual plaque in the Career Services Office.

In addition to many examples of Jay’s outstanding work, Dr. MacLaughlin stated in the nomination materials, “Jay’s greatest attributes are his energy and enthusiasm. When he found out that I was going to be working on research related to drones, even before the project started, Jay took the initiative to let me know that he was not just interested, but very excited at the thought of working on the project. Jay’s energy and enthusiasm are contagious and his presence has elevated everyone else’s performance. He leads by example and is always a great role model for the other students.”