Montana Tech Petroleum Students Receive Scholarships from SPE Denver

Montana Tech petroleum engineering students received a total of $12,100 in scholarships from the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Denver chapter. Eighteen Montana Tech students received scholarship awards ranging from $250 to $1,000 each. SPE Denver provided a total of $50,000 to 76 students from 5 universities: Colorado School of Mines, Montana Tech, New Mexico Tech, University of North Dakota and University of Wyoming. “We are very thankful for the scholarships from SPE Denver and are very proud of our students. They are the best,” noted Petroleum Engineering department head Burt Todd. “Our students competed with students from every Petroleum Engineering department in the Rockies and walked away with the lion’s share of the scholarships. We are really proud of their performance and the character of our students.”

Montana Tech SPE recipients for the 2017-2018 are: Alison Bickers, senior, Sandpoint, ID, $250; Claudine Datahan, senior, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, $900: Mandy Brewer, post-baccalaureate, Gladwin, Michigan, $300; Alexis Brandon, senior, Butte, MT, $500; Alexandria Maruska, junior, Power, MT, $550; Clay Dean, senior, Butte, MT, $850; Ryan McCartney, senior, Golden, CO, $550; Johnathan Grill, Senior, Butte, MT, $1000; Justin Weinkauf, senior, Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada, $300; Spencer Oddy, senior, Vernon, British Columbia, Canada, $300; Jacob Hobbes, senior, Idaho Falls, ID, $800; Zacary Beveridge, senior, Goleta, CA, $250; Zakary Kypfer, senior, Bozeman, MT, $1,000; Dane Gregory, senior, Wasilla, AK, $1,000; Thomas Pankratz, junior, Billings, MT, $1,000; Sione Tuai, junior, Barrow, AK, $250, Chance Maes, junior, Missoula, MT, $800; and Joshua Mirabdolbaghi, senior, Butte, MT, $1,000.

For more information, please contact Burt Todd at 406-496-4834.