Montana Tech PetroBowl Team Competed at SPE Conference

Montana Tech was represented very well at the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) conference in Denver, CO this past week. The Tech team composed of Ben Walden, Sean Sayers, Colin Russell, Ryan McCartney, and David Hernandez started the SPE PetroBowl competition off hot by winning the first 3 games of their pool play against Marietta, University of North Dakota, and Florida State. It came down to a tie breaker round between Tech and the University of Kansas, where Kansas was able to just beat Tech to the buzzer in order to win the round. Tech however persevered and came back to sweep Arizona State not allowing them to answer a single question.

Out of the pool play, Tech was handed there second loss to Oklahoma University and Penn State. Although Tech finished just one Spot (6th) away from going to compete at the ATCE conference in Houston, Dr. Lee Richards told the team "I'm really proud of the boys and how they performed through the competition. They represented Tech in a professional and courteous manner".

Pictures are: (l-r): Ben Walden, Sean Sayers, Ryan McCartney, and David Hernandez. Absent is Colin Russell)