Montana Tech Hockey Players Selected for National All-Star Challenge

Montana Tech Hockey Players Selected for National All-Star Challenge


Seven members of the Montana Tech Digger Hockey team were selected to represent the Mountain West Collegiate Hockey League (MWCHL) at the American Collegiate Hockey Association Division II National All-Star Challenge in West Chester, Pennsylvania this weekend. The All-Star Challenge is played every other year. Twelve leagues from all over the country will be sending their best players to compete against each other in a round robin style tournament; each team will play five games over three days. 

The Diggers had more players selected to represent the MWCHL in the All-Star Challenge than any other team in the league. The selected players are listed below with their major and their hometown. 

Dunk Abbott, Petroleum Engineering, Butte, Montana James Adamo, Environmental Engineering, Butte, Montana Blaine Bokenfohr, Petroleum Engineering, Sturgeon County, AB, Canada PJ Lawler, Mining Engineering, Kelowna, BC, Canada Sam Mitchell, Petroleum Engineering, Osoyoos, BC, Canada Ed Schmalz, Petroleum Engineering, Prince Albert, SK, Canada Conrad Smith*, Petroleum Engineering, Calgary, AB, Canada *Second time being selected to participate in the All-Star Challenge.

This is a great honor and shows the strides that this team has made over the past couple years, as only two players were selected for the last All-Star Challenge in 2013. Currently there are six teams in the MWCHL:  Weber State, Utah State, Montana State, Brigham Young University, Denver University and Montana Tech.  Next year, the league will be adding several teams:  University of Wyoming, Metro State, and Carroll College.

For more information on the Tournament, please visit or contact Mary North-Abbott at