Montana Tech Announces Faculty Merit Awardees

Montana Tech Announces Faculty Merit Awardees


Montana Tech announced this week the recipients of the Montana Tech Faculty Merit Awards. This year’s awards go to: Dr. John Amtmann, professor, Safety, Health, and Industrial Hygiene; Dr. Chris Danielson, associate professor, Liberal Studies; Dr. Jerry Downey, associate professor, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering; Dr. Chris Gammons, professor, Geological Engineering; Dr. Suzan Gazioglu, associate professor, Mathematical Sciences; Dr. Michael Masters, assistant professor, Liberal Studies; and Dr. Hilary Smith Risser, associate professor, Mathematical Sciences.

“I am proud to announce this year’s award recipients,” announced Chancellor Don Blackketter. “Each recipient exemplifies the qualities we seek on the Montana Tech campus and excels in the areas of teaching, service, and research. I thank each one of these awardees for all they do for Montana Tech and our students.” 

The Faculty Merit Award program is in its second year. To receive a Merit Award, the faculty member must apply. A Merit Award is granted for exceptional achievement in one key area (teaching, service or research) or excellence in two or three of these key areas. Excellent achievement implies significant impact, tangible innovations and/or contributions in the key area(s), and exceptional achievement goes beyond this level. A bonus and a salary increase are awarded to the winners.

The activities or accomplishments under consideration for a Merit Award must take place in the three years immediately prior to the application (for this year, 2009-2010 Academic Year to 2011-2012 AY). For research this includes January 2009 to the current date. Satisfactory teaching is also a requirement of all Merit Award recipients.