Mining Engineering

Advisory Board

Vision Statement

The Industry Advisory Board of Montana Tech will actively advise and participate with the Mining Engineering Department resulting in sustained recognition of Montana Tech as the world’s leader for providing talented and versatile mining engineering graduates. 

Mission Statement

The Industry Advisory Board will assure that Montana Tech’s Mining Engineering Department continues to remain one of the world’s leading institutions providing competent and versatile graduates to the mining and mineral extraction industries.

The Board will provide timely and pertinent information regarding mining industry issues in order to enhance the recruitment and education of students and assure that graduates will have received a quality and value added education focusing on safely extracting resources by the most economic and environmentally acceptable methods.  Providing superior graduates for the mining industry assures that employers may continue to provide superior financial returns for their stakeholders while ensuring the world’s mineral and energy security.

In addition to the Mining Engineering Faculty, the advisory board is made up from the following industry members, many of whom are Tech alumni. (alumni are indicated with *)

Robert D. Archibald, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1977

Managing Partner
Q4 Impact Group
bob@archibald.com


Adrian Berghorst

Setment Development Manager — Ground Support
Epiroc
adrian.berghorst@epiroc.com


Bryan Farbridge
*B.S. Mining

Project Manager – Hollister & Midas Mines
Hecla Nevada
bfarbridge@hecla-mining.com


Mike Harvie

Manager of Engineering and Geology
Montana Resources, LLP
MHarvie@montanaresources.com


Deb Keeland, P.E.

*M.S. Mining 2001

Master Black Belt
Continuous Improvement
Granite Construction Incorporated
Deb.Keeland@gcinc.com


Greg LeClaire

*B.S. Mining 1981

glleclaire@hotmail.com


Angie Okray

*B.S. Mining

Executive Director
Wyoming Miners Hospital Board
Angela.Okray@gmail.com


Rob Piippo, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 2005

Director of Sales
Stewart Lubricants & Service Co, Inc.
RPiippo@gmail.com


William Rogers

*B.S. Mining 1973

Mining Consultant
brogersminer@hotmail.com


Ben Scholz, P.E.

*B.S. Mining December 1994

Newmont Goldcorp
Chief Engineer – CCV Underground Project
ben.scholz@newmont.com


Chuck Stevens

*B.S. Mining 1980

Sterling Gold Mining Corporation
General Manager
cstevens@sterlinggoldmine.com


Matt Young

*B.S. Mining 2001

Business Development Manager
Kiewit Mining Group, Inc.
matt.young@kiewit.com

Doug Bayer

*B.S. Mining 1992
Chief Mining Engineer

Hecla Mining Company
dbayer@hecla-mining.com


Phillip S Brumit, Sr.

*B.S. Mining 1984
*M.S. Mining 1986

President
GB Mining, LLC
phil.brumit@josemariaresources.com


Jami Dwyer, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1992
*B.S. Applied Computer Science 1992

Barr Engineering
Elko, NV
Jdwyer@barr.com


Clark Fritz

*B.S. Mining 1985

clark.fritz@outlook.com


Mark J. Johnson, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1981

Freeport Indonesia President and Chief Operating Officer
Tembagapura, Papua, Indonesia
mjohnson@fmi.com


Ken Kluksdahl

*B.S. Mining 1979

Sibayne-Stillwater
kenkluksdahl@hotmail.com


Clint Mortensen

Chief Underground Mine Engineer
Barrick — Golden Sunlight Mine
cmortensen@barrick.com


Jason Palin

*B.S. Mining 1995

Vice President/General Manager- East Boulder Mine
Sibayne-Stillwater
jpalin@stillwatermining.com


Ben Roberds

*B.S. Mining, December 2002

Project Manager
J.S. Redpath Corporation
ben.roberds@redpathmining.com


Robert Roos

*B.S. Mining 2000

Lyman-Richey Sand & Gravel Company
General Manager
robert.roos@lymanrichey.com


Sam J. Shoemaker Jr., SME Reg’d Member., Q.P. 
*B.S. Mining

Project Manager 
John T. Boyd Company 
s-shoemaker@jtboyd.com


Jonathon Torpy

*B.S. Mining 1999

General Manager and President
Epiroc USA LLC
jon.torpy@epiroc.com