Advisory Board

Mining Engineering

Advisory Board

Vision Statement

The Industry Advisory Board of Montana Tech will actively advise and participate with the Mining Engineering Department resulting in sustained recognition of Montana Tech as the world’s leader for providing talented and versatile mining engineering graduates. 

Mission Statement

The Industry Advisory Board will assure that Montana Tech’s Mining Engineering Department continues to remain one of the world’s leading institutions providing competent and versatile graduates to the mining and mineral extraction industries.

The Board will provide timely and pertinent information regarding mining industry issues in order to enhance the recruitment and education of students and assure that graduates will have received a quality and value added education focusing on safely extracting resources by the most economic and environmentally acceptable methods.  Providing superior graduates for the mining industry assures that employers may continue to provide superior financial returns for their stakeholders while ensuring the world’s mineral and energy security.

In addition to the Mining Engineering Faculty, the advisory board is made up from the following industry members, many of whom are Tech alumni (alumni are indicated with *):

Robert D. Archibald, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1977

Managing Partner

Q4 Impact Group

bob@archibald.com

 

Phillip S Brumit, Sr.

President and Managing Director

Minera Candelaria, Lundin Mining

phil.brumit@lundinmining.com

 

Bryan Farbridge
*B.S. Mining

Project Manager – Hollister & Midas Mines
Hecla Nevada
bfarbridge@hecla-mining.com

 

Mike Harvie

Manager of Engineering and Geology

Montana Resources, LLP

MHarvie@montanaresources.com

 

Deb Keeland, P.E.

*M.S. Mining 2001

Master Black Belt

Continuous Improvement

Granite Construction Incorporated

Deb.Keeland@gcinc.com

 

Greg LeClaire

*B.S. Mining 1981

Flanders

Sales Representative

glleclaire@hotmail.com

 

Jason Palin

*B.S. Mining 1995

Vice President/General Manager- East Boulder Mine

Sibayne-Stillwater

jpalin@stillwatermining.com

 

Ben Roberds

*B.S. Mining, December 2002

Project Manager

J.S. Redpath Corporation

ben.roberds@redpathmining.com

 

Robert Roos

*B.S. Mining 2000

Lyman-Richey Sand & Gravel Company

General Manager

robert.roos@lymanrichey.com

 

Sam J. Shoemaker Jr., SME Reg’d Member., Q.P. 
*B.S. Mining

Project Manager 
John T. Boyd Company 
s-shoemaker@jtboyd.com

 

Jonathon Torpy

*B.S. Mining 1999

General Manager and President

Epiroc USA LLC

jon.torpy@epiroc.com

Doug Bayer*

*B.S. Mining 1992
Chief Mining Engineer

Hecla Mining Company
dbayer@hecla-mining.com

 

Jami Dwyer, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1992
*B.S. Applied Computer Science 1992

Barr Engineering

Elko, NV

Jdwyer@barr.com

 

Clark Fritz

*B.S. Mining 1985

clark.fritz@outlook.com

 

Mark J. Johnson, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1981

Freeport Indonesia President and Chief Operating Officer

Tembagapura, Papua, Indonesia
mjohnson@fmi.com

 

Ken Kluksdahl

*B.S. Mining 1979

Sibayne-Stillwater

kenkluksdahl@hotmail.com

 

Angie Okray

*B.S. Mining

Manager Mine Planning

Cloud Peak Energy

Angela.Okray@cldpk.com

  

Robin Piippo, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 2005

President and General Manager

Kemmerer Mine

Westmoreland Resource Partners

RPiippo@westmoreland.com

 

William Rogers

*B.S. Mining 1973

Mining Consultant

brogersminer@hotmail.com

 

Ben Scholz, P.E.

*B.S. Mining December 1994

Newmont Goldcorp

Chief Engineer – CCV Underground Project

ben.scholz@newmont.com

 

Chuck Stevens

*B.S. Mining 1980

Sterling Gold Mining Corporation

General Manager

cstevens@sterlinggoldmine.com

 

Matt Young

*B.S. Mining 2001

Business Development Manager

Kiewit Mining Group, Inc.

matt.young@kiewit.com