Montana Tech of The University of Montana Staff Senate Minutes November 20, 2015

Members present: Peggy Delaney, Frances Holmes, Theresa O'Leary, Joyce O'Neill, Vanatta Casey, Annalee Werkmeister, Faye Wilson. Members absent: Melissa Kump, Marilyn Patrick

1. <u>Election of Senate President</u> Peggy Delaney was elected as Senate President.

2. <u>Solicitation of new senate members</u>

Peggy reported that Marilyn Patrick wants to remain a senator. Peggy reviewed the responses to the email solicitation of new senate members. Six staff members are interested in being on the senate. After discussion, the senators added the following people to the Montana Tech Staff Senate: Scott Forthofer (Director, Residence Life), Peggy McCoy (Director, Alumni Affairs), Amanda Shroyer (SSS Administrative Assistant, Institute for Educational Opportunities), Kathy Stevens (Coordinator, Distance Education), Angela Stillwagon (Coordinator I, Career Services), and Taryn Quayle (SSS Academic Coach). No employee from the crafts offered to be on the senate. Peggy will follow up personally with them about selecting a representative.

Peggy will notify new members of their selection by email and also send them a signed Welcome card. A copy of the bylaws will be sent to each new member.

3. <u>Senate Work Plan</u>

Peggy proposed that the Senate develop a work plan that uses the stated purpose of the senate as the basis for developing goals and objectives (with suggested completion dates). The plan would incorporate senate activity ideas from past meetings and provide a "springboard" for introducing new ideas.

Peggy distributed a copy of the senate bylaws to each member. The senate purpose statements were reviewed. Strategies and ideas to fulfill the senate purpose were discussed. Peggy will develop and distribute a worksheet of the strategies and ideas to review at the next meeting.

4. Montana Tech Strategic Plan

This topic was deferred until after the senate work plan is completed.

The next Senate meeting is scheduled for Friday, December 4, 2015 at 9 a.m. in the Mountain Con Room on the first floor of the Student Union Building.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Delaney