MONTANA TECH FACULTY SENATE

Monday, September 27, 2010

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

Members present: Jerry Downey (Vice-Chair), Suzan Gazioglu, Rod James, Hal Millegan (Chair), John Nugent, Traci O'Neill, Bill Ryan, Celia Schahczenski, Heather Shearer, Kirk Waren

Members absent: none

Attending without vote: none

Business

The draft minutes of the April 21st meeting were discussed. Not all members had seen them, so they will be distributed by email before the next meeting. There was a meeting and discussion on April 28th, 2010, for which no minutes were written. Last year's chair Rod James noted that there was no action at that meeting, and that the matter of space and personnel resources will be worked on this fall. Hal Millegan sent by email April 29th, 2010 some drafted verbiage regarding workloads and resource availability.

Organization of the Faculty Senate for the 2010-2011 academic year

Rod James (2009-2010 chair) opened the meeting and suggested we determine the officers for the 2010-2011 academic year. Officers elected are:

Hal Millegan, Chair Jerome Downey, Vice-Chair Kirk Waren, Secretary

Meeting schedule for Fall Semester, 2010

Meetings will typically be held every other week at 3 pm on Mondays.

Plans for this year's Faculty Senate

Hal, as the elected chair, discussed some ideas he had for improving the Faculty Senate's function at the university. These ideas and some initial issues that Hal suggested the Faculty Senate might deal with this year were discussed at length.

Hal offered to send an email to the faculty listing initial issues that might be addressed by the Faculty Senate this academic year. With that will be a request for other issues that could be considered. At the next Faculty Senate meeting we plan to develop an agenda of issues and prioritize them to the extent possible.

Faculty Senate representatives for other committees

Representation of the Faculty Senate for some committees were assigned or re-assigned as follows:

Academic Standards Committee—

Financial Aid Appeals Committee—
Instructional Improvement Committee—

Motor Pool CommitteeStudent Disciplinary Appeals Committee
Student Disciplinary Appeals Com

Student Disciplinary Appeals Committee - John Nugent
Research Advisory Committee- Jerry Downey
WEB Guidance Committee- Suzan Gazioglu
Computer and Telecommunications CommitteeChancellor's Advisory Committee Hal Millegan

Note: Various Faculty Senate members also serve on many of the committees as members-at-large or representing another entity.

The Senate group adjourned at approximately 4:30 pm.

NEXT MEETINGS:

The next regular meeting is scheduled for 3 PM, Monday, October 11th.

Respectfully submitted,

Kirk Waren Secretary