MONTANA TECH FACULTY SENATE

Friday, September 12, 2008

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

Members present: David Armstrong, Jerry Downey, Betsy Garlish, Rod James (Chair), Rich McNearny, John Nugent, Kirk Waren, Miriam Young

Members absent: Gretchen Geller, Traci O'Neill

Attending without vote: None

Business

The minutes of April 25 were not discussed or approved. Rod James was nominated and approved by the members present to serve as Chair of the Faculty Senate, 2008-2009. He asked that other members might rotate representing the Faculty Senate at Board of Regents meetings during the year, and Rod will procure a schedule of those meetings to provide members of the Faculty Senate.

Members of the Faculty Senate were interested in getting a copy of the Bylaws of the Montana Tech Faculty Senate. A copy of the Bylaws is being distributed by email to all members. They are found in the Montana Tech of the University of Montana Faculty and Staff Handbook, Appendix D.

Old Business

1. Standards for Hiring, Promotion, and Tenure

• Rod James would like the Chancellor's Office to provide an update of the development of standards for hiring, promotion, and tenure in various departments of Montana Tech.

New Business

- 1. Faculty Senate representation renewal
 - The following changes are made from last year's membership on the Faculty Senate:
 - Rod James elected Chair
 - Traci O'Neill replaces Lance Edwards
 - David Armstrong replaces Mark Sholes

2. Montana Tech Budget

• Rod James and other members expressed an interest in if or how the Faculty of Montana Tech participates in the formulation of the Montana Tech Budget. As a result, Rod intends to invite a representative of the Chancellor's Office or Administration to provide us with some basic information on this topic.

The Senate adjourned at 1:00 PM.

NEXT MEETING:

All members are planning to attend the Lunch with the Board of Regents, Sept. 26, 2008, at the Pintlar Room in the Student Union Building, Montana Tech.

The next regular meeting is tentatively set for Oct. 3, 2008.

Respectfully submitted,

Kirk Waren Secretary