MONTANA TECH FACULTY SENATE

September 22, 2006

MINUTES

B. Garlish, L. Edwards, K. Porter, P. Conrad, R. James, M. Young, M.

Subject: Faculty Senate Sept. 22, 2006

Sholes, and D. Abbott present The following people agreed to be Faculty Senate representatives on the following committees: Academic Standards - Rod James > Athletic Committee - Rod James > Bookstore Advisory Board - John Brower > Computer & Telecommunications Advisory - Mark Sholes > Curriculum Review Committee - Miriam Young > Financial Aid Appeals - Rod James > Instructional Improvement Committee - Lance Edwards > > Motor Pool Committee - Karen Porter Research Advisory Committee - Paul Conrad > > Student Disciplinary Committee - Miriam Young > WEB Guidance Committee - Mark Sholes Karen Porter agreed to serve as Faculty Senate Secretary. It was agreed that the Faculty Senate should host the next Fall TGIF. It was agreed that S. Patton's proposed language for awarding Honorary Doctorates was satisfactory. S. Patton's proposal for Probationary Appointments was discussed but there was no agreement as to whether current policy of not requiring Probationary Appointees to apply for Tenure after a set number of years or AAUP policy requiring application for Tenure after a set number of years. In the latter policy, if Tenure were not granted, a terminal contract would be given.

It was suggested that President Dennison's opinion be sought.

Mark A. Sholes, President