Research Office
Research Office
Future Students  |  Current Students  |  Parents  |  Alumni   |    Giving   |   Faculty & Staff   |   Visitors  |   Athletics

Research Office

Academics »

Learn about the 60+ degrees and programs we offer. And discover the outstanding enrichment opportunities available to you.

Current   Researchers

Last Name

First

Title/Department

E-Mail

Abbott

Douglas

Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Research

dabbott@mtech.edu

Abdo

Ginette

Assistant Research Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology, Assistant Museum Curator

gabdo@mtech.edu

Amtmann

John

Professor, Safety, Health & Industrial Hygiene

jamtmann@mtech.edu

Anderson

Corby

Research Faculty, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering; Director, Center for Advanced Mineral and Metallurgical Processing

canderson@mtech.edu

Apple

Martha

Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

mapple@mtech.edu

Appleman

Richard

Professor, Environmental Engineering

rappleman@mtech.edu

Bardsley

Sally

Assistant Professor, Safety, Health & Industrial Hygiene

sbardsley@mtech.edu

Barth

Susan

Chief, Information Services Division, Editor, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

sbarth@mtech.edu

Berg

Dick

Senior Research Geologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology; Museum Curator

dberg@mtech.edu

Bergantino

Robert

Research Associate Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

rbergantino@mtech.edu

Bowler

Tom

Field Bio-Remediation Engineer, Hydrology, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

tbowler@mtech.edu

Braun

Jeff

Assistant Professor, Computer Science

jbraun@mtech.edu

Cameron

Douglas

Professor and Department Head, Chemistry; Department Head, Pre-professional Health Studies

dcameron@mtech.edu

Carstarphen

Camela

Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

ccarstarphen@mtech.edu

Carter

David

Professor, Professional & Technical Communications

dcarter@mtech.edu

Coe

Douglas

Dean, College of Letters, Sciences & Professional Studies; Professor, Chemistry

dcoe@mtech.edu

Conrad

Paul

Assistant Professor, Mining Engineering

pconrad@mtech.edu

Crowley

Jack

Associate Professor and Department Head, Liberal Studies

jcrowley@mtech.edu

Deal

Edmond

Director and State Geologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

edeal@mtech.edu

Donovan

Richard

Professor, General Engineering

rdonovan@mtech.edu

Douglass

Richard

Professor and Department Head, Biological Sciences

rdouglass@mtech.edu

Drew

Douglas

Professor, Chemistry

ddrew@mtech.edu

Drury

William

Professor, Environmental Engineering

wdrury@mtech.edu

Duaime

Ted

Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

tduaime@mtech.edu

Evans

John

Associate Professor and Department Head, Petroleum Engineering

jevans@mtech.edu

Figueira

Joe

Associate Vice Chancellor, for Academic Affairs and Research; Dean of Graduate School

jfigueira@mtech.edu

Friel

Leroy

Professor, General Engineering

lfriel@mtech.edu

Gammons

Chris

Professor, Geological Engineering

cgammons@mtech.edu

Ganesan

Kumar

Professor and Department Head, Environmental Engineering

kganesan@mtech.edu

Gazioglu

Suzan

Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences

sgazioglu@mtech.edu

Gerbrandt

Butch

Professor and Department Head, General Engineering

bgerbrandt@mtech.edu

Girard

James

Assistant Professor, Geophysical Engineering

jgirard@mtech.edu

Gleason

William

Adjunct Instructor and Director of Laboratories, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

wgleason@mtech.edu

Gonshak

Henry

Professor, Liberal Studies

hgonshak@mtech.edu

Griffiths

Vernon

Professor Emeritus, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering

vgriffiths@mtech.edu

Handley

James

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

jhandley@mtech.edu

Hanson

Jay

Research Assistant, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology, Billings

jhanson@mtech.edu

Hargrave

Phyllis

Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

phargrave@mtech.edu

Hart

Julie

Assistant Professor, Safety, Health & Industrial Hygiene

jhart@mtech.edu

Heath

Leo

Assistant Professor and Department Head, Petroleum Engineering

lheath@mtech.edu

Hobbs

David

Professor, Chemistry and Geochemistry

dhobbs@mtech.edu

Hoffman

Todd

Assistant Professor, Petroleum Engineering

thoffman@mtech.edu

Huang

Hsin

Professor, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering

hhuang@mtech.edu

Icopini

Gary

Associate Research Professor, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology

gicopini@mtech.edu

Jaansalu

Kevin

Assistant Professor, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering

kjaansalu@mtech.edu

Jacobson

Larry

Professor, Liberal Studies

ljacobson@mtech.edu

James

Rodney

Professor, Environmental Engineering

rjames@mtech.edu

Jensen

Roger

Professor, Safety, Health & Industrial Hygiene

rjensen@mtech.edu

Johnson

Dick

Associate Professor, General Engineering

djohnson@mtech.edu

Kasinath

Rajendra Kumar

Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering Initiative, Environmental Engineering

rkasinath@mtech.edu

Kerschen

Michael

Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

mkerschen@mtech.edu

Knudsen

Peter

Dean, School of Mines & Engineering; Professor, Mining Engineering

pknudsen@mtech.edu

Kober

Timothy

Professor and Department Head, Business & Information Technology

tkober@mtech.edu

Kuenzi

Amy

Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

akuenzi@mtech.edu

LaFave

John

Associate Research Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

jlafave@mtech.edu

Larson

Jeanne

Lab Director, Environmental Engineering

jlarson@mtech.edu

Link

Curtis

Professor, Geophysical Engineering

clink@mtech.edu

Lonn

Jeffrey

Assistant Research Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

jlonn@mtech.edu

Lopez

David

Senior Research Geologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology, Billings

dlopez@mtech.edu

Macgregor

Bill

Professor, Professional & Technical Communications

bmacgregor@mtech.edu

MacLaughlin

Mary

Professor, Geological Engineering

mmaclaughlin@mtech.edu

Madigan

Bruce

Associate Professor, General Engineering

bmadigan@mtech.edu

Mannix

Gary

Associate Professor and Department Head, Health Care Informatics

gmannix@mtech.edu

Mason

Don

Research Specialist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

dmason@mtech.edu

McCulloch

Robin

Staff Field Agent / Associate Research Mining Engineer, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

rmcculloch@mtech.edu

McGrath

Steve

Organic Chemist, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology

smcgrath@mtech.edu

McNearny

Rich

Professor, Mining Engineering & Anaconda Professor

rmcnearny@mtech.edu

Mellott

Kevin

Director, Technical Outreach Services to Communities (TOSC) and Technical Assistance to Brownsfields (TAB)

kmellott@mtech.edu

Metesh

John

Chief Research Division / Senior Research Hydrogeologist / Research Professor, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

jmetesh@mtech.edu

Miller

Marvin

Assistant Director for Contracts and Grants, Senior Research Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

mmiller@mtech.edu

Mitman

Grant

Professor, Biological Sciences

gmitman@mtech.edu

Morrison

John

Associate Professor, General Engineering

jmorrison@mtech.edu

Munday

Pat

Professor, Professional & Technical Communications

pmunday@mtech.edu

Olmstead

Wayne

Acting Chief Analytical -- Analytical / Inorganic Research Chemist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

wolmstead@mtech.edu

Parker

Stephen

Associate Professor, Chemistry

sparker@mtech.edu

Patton

Thomas

Senior Research Hydrogeologist/ Program Manager--Groundwater Assessment, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

tpatton@mtech.edu

Pedulla

Marisa

Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

mpedulla@mtech.edu

Peterson

Holly

Professor, Environmental Engineering

hpeterson@mtech.edu

Poole

Michael

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

mpoole@mtech.edu

Ray

John

Professor, Liberal Studies

jray@mtech.edu

Ray

Roberta

Professor, Liberal Studies

rray@mtech.edu

Reddish

Shawn

Research Assistant, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology, Billings

sreddish@mtech.edu

Reed

Pamela

Assistant Research Professor, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

preed@mtech.edu

Reiten

Jon

Research Professor / Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology, Billings

jreiten@mtech.edu

Richter

Mike

Research Specialist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

mrichter@mtech.edu

Rinehart

Leonard

Research Specialist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

lrinehart@mtech.edu

Rossi

Richard

Professor and Department Head, Mathematical Sciences

rrossi@mtech.edu

Sandau

Ken

GIS Specialist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

ksandau@mtech.edu

Sawyer

Paul

Professor Emeritus, Biological Sciences

psawyer@mtech.edu

Schahczenski

Celia

Professor, Computer Science

cschahczenski@mtech.edu

Schmidt

Fred

Assistant Research Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

fschmidt@mtech.edu

Schwartz

Clarence

Ground-Water Specialist , Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology, Billings

cschwartz@mtech.edu

Shirk

Henrietta

Associate Professor and Department Head, Professional & Technical Communications

hshirk@mtech.edu

Sholes

Mark

Professor, Geological Engineering

msholes@mtech.edu

Smith

Larry

Associate Research Geologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

lsmith@mtech.edu

Smith

Susan

Geologic Cartographer, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

ssmith@mtech.edu

Spath

Bill

Professor, Safety, Health & Industrial Hygiene

bspath@mtech.edu

Spear

Terry

Professor and Department Head, Safety, Health & Industrial Hygiene

tspear@mtech.edu

Speece

Marvin

Professor, Geophysical Engineering

mspeece@mtech.edu

St. Clair

Ann

Director of the Library

astclair@mtech.edu

Stickney

Michael

Director, Earthquake Studies Office, Senior Research Geologist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

mstickney@mtech.edu

Stierle

Andrea

Research Professor and Project Manager, Chemistry

astierle@mtech.edu

Stierle

Donald

Professor, Chemistry

dstierle@mtech.edu

Thale

Paul

GIS Specialist, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

pthale@mtech.edu

Todd

Charles

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

ctodd@mtech.edu

Toivonen

Ginger

Associate Professor, Mathematical Sciences

gtoivonen@mtech.edu

Trudnowski

Daniel

Professor, General Engineering

dtrudnowski@mtech.edu

Tucci

Nicholas

Assistant Research Hydrologist, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology

ntucci@mtech.edu

Twidwell

Larry

Professor, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering; Anaconda Distinguished Professor

ltwidwell@mtech.edu

VanDyne

Michele

Assistant Professor and Department Head, Computer Science

mvandyne@mtech.edu

Vuke

Susan

Associate Research Geologist; Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

svuke@mtech.edu

Wahl

Neil

Associate Professor, General Engineering

nwahl@mtech.edu

Waren

Kirk

Associate Research Hydrogeologist, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology

kwaren@mtech.edu

Waring

George

Professor, Liberal Studies

gwaring@mtech.edu

Waring

Thomas

Professor, Environmental Engineering

twaring@mtech.edu

Weight

Willis

Professor, Geological Engineering

wweight@mtech.edu

Wheaton

John

Senior Research Hydrogeologist; Chief Billings Office, Montana Bureau of Mines & Geology

jwheaton@mtech.edu

Wolfgram

Diane

Professor and Department Head, Geological Engineering

dwolfgram@mtech.edu

Young

Courtney

Professor and Department Head, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering; ASARCO Distinguished Professor

cyoung@mtech.edu

Ziegler

Robert

Professor, Liberal Studies

rziegler@mtech.edu

Zhou

Xiaobing

Assistant Professor, Geophysical Engineering

xzhou@mtech.edu