Waitlisting FAQs for Faculty
How do I put a student on a waitlist?
When you're registering a student for classes via OrediggerWeb, you'll be notified if the class is closed with this message "Class Closed - X Waitlisted" where X indicates the number of people that are already waitlisted for the class. You can then select "Waitlist" from the drop down box. If the waitlist is already full, you'll get the message "Class Closed - Waitlist Full".
Why does it look like there's an opening in the class, but I can only waitlist a student instead of registering them?
If you try to register a student and you get a message that says "Open - X Waitlisted", that means that there's an opening in the class, but a notification has been sent to the next student on the waitlist, and that opening is being held for them for 72 hours.
How are the waitlisted students notified when there's an opening in the class?
When an opening becomes available, the Enrollment Services staff will automatically register the student for the course and then email the student letting them know they've been registered in the waitlisted course.
How can I monitor the waitlist for my class?
On the Faculty Services tab in OrediggerWeb, there are two new links: Summary Waitlist and Detail Waitlist. You can monitor the waitlist for your class by clicking on one of those links. You'll be able to see the waitlist position for each of the students on the waitlist. You can also send an email to your waitlisted students by clicking on the Email Waitlisted Students at the bottom of the page.
How does the waitlist priority work?
Students will be enrolled first by class standing, then by date waitlisted. For example, assume a sophomore student waitlists a class on April 1st, and a senior waitlists a class on April 2nd at 8:00 am and another senior waitlists the class on April 2nd at 2:00 pm. As openings become available in the class, the senior who waitlisted on April 2nd at 8:00 am will be enrolled first, the senior who waitlisted on April 2nd at 2:00 pm will be enrolled second, and the sophomore will be enrolled last.
Please note that because of the order of priority, when the message comes up "Class Closed - 4 Waitlisted", this does not necessarily mean that the student will be the fifth person on the waitlist. It depends on their class standing, as well as the class standing of the other students on the waitlist. Remember, you can view the waitlist order of the students by clicking on the Summary Wait List link on the Faculty Services tab in OrediggerWeb.
Can I change the order of the students on the waitlist?
You don't have the ability to change the order of the waitlist via OrediggerWeb. However, if there is a situation that demands an exception to the regsitration prioritizaion, you may submit a request to the Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs. Waitlisting priority can only be changed with VCAA approval.
What does it mean when the waitlist position for the student is 0?
This means that the student has been sent an email notification that there's an opening in the class, but they haven't registered for the class yet. You'll also be able to see when the notification for that student expires.
Will waitlisted students show up on my Blackboard class roster?
No. Students will not show up on the roster unless they're actually registered in the class.